Critical area projects included in Senate bonding proposal

On Saturday, Minnesota Senate Republicans announced a $1.4 billion bonding bill, which focuses on key infrastructure needs, jobs, and economic growth across Minnesota. The bill includes $22.1 million for the reconstruction of Trunk Highway 93 and U.S. Highway 169 at the Henderson Area Minnesota River Scenic Byway Highway, $38 million for the four-lane expansion of U.S. Highway 212 from Norwood Young America to Cologne, and $15 million for flood mitigation at Sibley County Highway 6.

“I am pleased to see several of the critical infrastructure projects in our area included in the Senate’s capital investment proposal. This is a good bill that focuses on what our state needs: critical infrastructure, roads, and bridges – particularly in Greater Minnesota,” said Senator Scott Newman (R-Hutchinson), chair of the Senate Transportation Finance and Policy Committee. “When the committee visited the area earlier this year, we saw firsthand the need for state assistance for some of these projects – and we saw the incredible support from our communities. I am optimistic we will be able to get this bill across the finish line and finally get to work on these critical area projects.”

The Senate’s proposed $1.4 billion bonding bill includes $998 million in general obligation bonds – as well as an additional $400 million in trunk highway bonds – for critical infrastructure, state assets, roads and bridges, airports, and freight rail. The bill finances a total of $688 million in transportation projects, $203 million in water treatment and infrastructure grants for access to clean water, and $105 million in economic development grants. Finally, the bill includes $170 million for the maintenance of publicly owned buildings and learning environments at the University of Minnesota and campuses of the Minnesota State system.

Projects are eligible for bonding if they are publicly owned and designated as infrastructure and approximately $5.5 billion in capital requests were submitted this year. A list of projects and totals included in the bill is available here.

Senator Scott Newman represents communities in McLeod, Meeker, Sibley, and Wright counties in the Minnesota Senate. He is chair of the Senate Transportation Finance and Policy Committee.