Senator Scott Newman

Proudly representing District 18
Communities in McLeod, Meeker, Sibley, and Wright counties

News from Senator Newman

personMeet Senator Newman
Video Update
speaker_notesSocial Media

Meet Senator Newman

Since 2011, Scott Newman has represented District 18 in the Minnesota State Senate, which consists of McLeod, Meeker and Sibley counties, as well as a portion of Wright County. Prior to being elected to the Senate, Scott served two terms in the Minnesota House of Representatives.

Scott was born in 1947 and grew up in Hutchinson. After graduating from Minnesota State University, Mankato, with a B.A. in history and political science, Scott joined the Hennepin County Sheriff’s Department as a deputy sheriff. In 1973, he graduated from William Mitchell College of Law in St. Paul, earning a Juris Doctor degree. During his legal career, Scott was certified as a Civil Trial Specialist and was engaged in civil trial practice for many years. In addition, he has been a felony public defender, a mediator, and an administrative law judge with the Office of Administrative Hearings.

During his time in the legislature, Scott has made transportation-related issues and reducing both government spending and regulation his top priorities. He currently serves as chairman of the Senate Transportation Finance and Policy Committee.



  • Chair, Transportation Finance and Policy
  • Capital Investment
  • Finance
  • Rules and Administration
  • State Government Finance and Policy and Elections
Sen. Scott Newman