Senator Kiffmeyer: CARES funding will provide support to overcome the impacts of COVID

Today Governor Walz announced he would distribute the full $841 million in federal CARES funding to local entities. The distribution is according to the approved compromise legislation the Senate and House agreed to in the special session.

“As our communities begin to rebuild, this funding will provide the extra support needed to overcome the impacts of the pandemic,” said Senator Mary Kiffmeyer. “We led this discussion over special session, developed a fair formula, and I am glad the Governor decided to evenly distribute these funds to our communities.”

The compromise agreement distributed the local government funding fairly to Minnesota counties, cities, and towns based on a formula using their population. The Senate passed the agreed-upon legislation with nearly unanimous support during the special session. The legislation brought transparency and fairness to the distribution since the federal funds were not subject to legislative approval and could be spent unilaterally by Walz.

Minnesota received more than $2 billion from the federal government to help local governments, health professionals, and businesses fight COVID. That money went into an account called the Federal Coronavirus Relief Fund, so it could be quickly deployed to places it is needed most.

The funds will be distributed as follows:

Sherburne County $11,667,880

Wright County $16,569,926

Big Lake Township $596,017

Cities of

Big Lake $863,098

Elk River $1,875,294

Otsego $1,305,119

Albertville $563,922

St Michael $1,343,694

Hanover $261,883

Dayton $457,466