Sen. Nelson named ‘Legislator of Distinction’ by Minnesota School Boards Association

Senator Carla Nelson (Rochester-R) recently received the Legislator of Distinction Award from the Minnesota School Board Association (MSBA). A leading advocate for public education, the MSBA supports, promotes, and strengthens the work of public-school boards across the state, representing members in all of Minnesota’s school districts.

“I am honored by this award and proud to stand with the Minnesota School Board Association to ensure every Minnesota student has the opportunity to attend a great public school and to graduate prepared for success,” said Senator Nelson, who serves as Chairwoman of the Senate E-12 Education Committee. “Through historic investments in education, we focused on students and funded what works,” added Senator Nelson. 

In 2019, Senator Nelson chief-authored the comprehensive Minnesota education funding bill, which increased the per-pupil funding formula by 2 percent each year of the budget cycle, investing resources directly into the classroom. The bill represents the largest investment in education in Minnesota history and is the largest budget area in Minnesota state government. Further, Nelson championed several innovative programs aimed at early learning, literacy for all, and focusing on career and technical education in high school.

“Sen. Nelson was a strong advocate for no new mandates during the 2019 Legislature,” said Kirk Schneidawind, executive director of the Minnesota School Boards Association. “Her efforts to understand the value of local control and trusting locally elected officials, our school boards across Minnesota, is commendable and appreciated.”

Sen. Carla Nelson, a former public-school teacher with a master’s degree in teacher leadership, is in her third term representing Senate District 26, which includes students in the Byron, Chatfield, Dover-Eyota, Hayfield, Plainview-Elgin-Millville, Rochester, St. Charles, and Stewartville school districts. She serves as chairwoman of the Senate E-12 Education Committee.