Southeastern Minnesota projects receive Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund grants

Several projects in southeastern Minnesota have received grants from the Minnesota Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund. The beneficiaries include the Dodge County Historical Society, the Olmsted County Historical Society, and the St. Olaf Heritage Association.

“The grants awarded to these organizations will allow them to continue their great work of educating the public on southeastern Minnesota’s rich history,” said Senator David Senjem (R-Rochester). “These projects have the potential to change the way we understand our past and I look forward to seeing the completed works.”

The Dodge County Historical Society in Mantorville received a $103,825 grant for construction costs related to the Wasioja Civil War Recruiting Station, which is listed in the National Register of Historic Places, and is in need of significant roof work. The Olmsted County Historical Society in Rochester received a $96,000 grant to digitize their archive of audio and video recordings. Finally, the St. Olaf Heritage Association in Rochester received a $2,495 grant to install a historical marker for Zion Cemetery in rural Olmsted County.

The grants were awarded following a competitive grant process and public input. Nearly $4.5 million in grants will be awarded in 2018 from the Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund, which resulted from the Clean Water, Land, and Legacy Amendment (the ‘Legacy Amendment’) passed by Minnesota voters in 2008. The Legacy Amendment increased the state’s sales tax by three-eights of one percent, with much of the increased revenue dedicated to the protection of Minnesota’s natural resources and cultural heritage.

“Congratulations to these area projects,” Senator Senjem continued. “These groups are doing exceptional work in making sure our region’s legacy is not forgotten. I wish them all the best.”

Senator David Senjem is serving his fifth term in the Minnesota Senate. He represents District 25, which includes communities in Dodge and Olmsted counties, serves as chairman of the Capital Investment Committee, and is a former majority and minority leader.