Senator Mark Johnson appointed to Deputy Majority Leader of Senate Republican Caucus

Following a hard-fought 2020 election, Senate Republicans maintained control of the Minnesota State Senate with a narrow one-vote majority. Within the same week, Senate Republicans were already at work organizing for the next session. Following their organizing meeting, the caucus announced new leadership for the 2021-2022 legislative session. 

Included in the appointments is Senator Mark Johnson (R-East Grand Forks), who will serve the caucus as Deputy Majority Leader.  

“I am honored to have earned the confidence of Senate District 1 voters during my last term and the opportunity to go back to serve another,” said Senator Johnson. “Minnesota faces several significant challenges over the next biennium, such as the projected multibillion-dollar budget deficit, COVID-19, and election integrity. As Deputy Leader, I will have a larger role in reforming government and setting policy in this state to better reflect our values and interests as Minnesotans. I believe we have a responsibility to ensure that our state remains the best place to live, work, and play in this nation.”

Outside of Senator Johnson’s appointment, Senator Paul Gazelka (R-East Gull Lake) was re-elected as Majority Leader and Senator Jeremy Miller (R- Winona) as Senate President nominee. Freshman Senator-elect Zach Duckworth (R- Lakeville), and Senators Roger Chamberlain (R- Lino Lakes), John Jasinski (R- Faribault), Karin Housley (R- St. Mary’s Point), and Bill Weber (R- Luverne) round out the rest of the leadership team.