Senate Votes 9th time to End Walz Emergency Powers

ST. PAUL, MN – Senate Republicans voted today for the ninth time to end Governor Tim Walz’s emergency powers. The vote was done by an amendment to the State Government and Veterans’ Budget bill. It was added to the budget bill with tripartisan support. 

“The emergency is over. The only person who doesn’t realize this is Governor Walz,” Senate Majority Leader Paul Gazelka (R- East Gull Lake) said. “Every day I hear from people across the state asking us to end the emergency powers that shut down businesses, schools, parks, weddings, funerals, celebrations, and entertainment venues. For the ninth time, we are voting to end the emergency powers. Minnesota is open, vaccines and tests are widely available, housing assistance funds are slowly going out, and cases and deaths are way down. There is absolutely no reason to continue the emergency.”

According to the National Academy for State Health Policy:

  • 15 states plus the District of Columbia have removed their emergency powers so far:
    • Alaska, Arkansas, District of Columbia, Kansas, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Vermont, and Wisconsin
  • 3 states set to expire in June or July:
    • Delaware, Maine, Maryland
  • 19 states will need renewal to continue, including Minnesota:
    • Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Missouri, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia