Senate Republicans choose Sen. Paul Gazelka to lead new majority

Sen. Paul Gazelka was elected today by Minnesota Senate Republicans to lead their new majority heading into the 2017 legislative session. This is the first time in Minnesota history Republicans will have the majority in the Senate for a four-year term. Majority Leader Gazelka is in his third term in the Senate representing District 9 which includes Cass, Morrison, Tood, and Wadena counties. He has served as Assistant Leader since 2014, the Lead Republican on the Commerce Committee since 2012, and was on the Tax Conference Committee in 2016.

“I’m deeply honored to represent my Senate colleagues, and all Minnesotans, in Republicans’ first four-year term as the majority caucus.

The voters made a clear choice this election by putting Republicans in control of the state legislature. Too many Minnesota families have been left behind as increased taxes and higher health care costs add unnecessary stress to their lives.

The new Republican Senate will reverse this trend. We will have a bold agenda that begins with fixing the healthcare crisis created by the DFL. We will also pass a reasonable budget and put an end to silly spending.

We look forward to getting to work right away for the people of Minnesota.”