Senate Republicans Announce Leadership Team

(ST. PAUL, MN) –  Senate Republicans have announced new leadership for the 2021-2022 legislative session.  

Senator Paul Gazelka (R-East Gull Lake) was re-elected as Majority Leader and Senator Jeremy Miller (R- Winona) as Senate President. Gazelka has served as Majority Leader since 2017, and Miller as President since 2019.

“It’s a privilege and honor to continue to serve the state as Majority Leader,” said Gazelka. “Having defended a Republican Majority in the Senate for the first time in history, and continuing with divided government in St. Paul, we will work on recovering the economy, balancing the budget while fighting waste, fraud and abuse, without asking for more sacrifices from hard-working Minnesotans.”

Senator Mark Johnson (R- East Grand Forks) will serve as the Deputy Leader to the caucus. Freshman Senator-elect Zach Duckworth (R- Lakeville), and Senators Roger Chamberlain (R- Lino Lakes), John Jasinski (R- Faribault), Karin Housley (R- St. Marys Point), and Bill Weber (R- Luverne) round out the rest of the leadership team.

“This team represents new and experienced legislators from rural and suburban regions. All of Minnesota will benefit from us working together this session,” Gazelka concluded.