Jasinski named “First-Term Legislator of the Year”

The Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities (CGMC) has announced Sen. John Jasinski (R-Faribault) is the recipient of their 2017 First-Term Legislator of the Year award. The award is given annually by the 90 member cities that make up the CGMC to a legislator who has exhibited outstanding leadership on issues that affect Greater Minnesota.

“It is incredibly humbling to receive this award,” said Sen. Jasinski. “Anyone who lives outside the metro area knows we have different needs – and a different way of life – than Minneapolis and St. Paul. I’m just trying to make sure we are not forgotten. I pride myself on working hard for Greater Minnesota, because it’s where my constituents and I call home. Any time you can be recognized for your work, it is a tremendous honor.”

“As the President of the CGMC, it is with great pleasure and pride that we name Sen. Jasinski as our ‘First-Term Legislator of the Year” for 2017,” said Sara Carlson, Mayor of Alexandria and President of the CGMC. “He exemplifies everything we look for when selecting our honorees: an energetic, hard-working, passionate legislator, who gets in office and right away tries to get something done for their district and for Greater Minnesota. We are proud of his work this year and look forward to even more success in the years to come.”

The award will officially be presented at the CGMC legislative dinner on Thursday, August 3 in Fergus Falls.